Removing scar tissue from avm brain surgery

Has anyone had to have scar tissue removed on brain from avm surgery?

1 Like

I’m not sure that surgery to remove scar tissue is something that anyone would do. To physically go in there to operate seems liable to me to give you more scar tissue than less but I’m not a doctor, so I don’t know.

Is it something your doctor has talked about or are you just wondering what is done about scar tissue?

Best wishes,

Richard

1 Like

That was my sentiment exactly. I go in for another EMU this week. They already know it’s scar tissue. Taking epilepsy meds isn’t helping. I’m maxed out on 3 meds. That’s why I’m asking if anyone else has had to face scar tissue removal.

1 Like

I’ll be interested to know what the doc says!

Good luck!

Richard

1 Like

Not really funny story but a number of years ago when I did a regular scan to check on shunt and drain, the noticed that my appendix was obstructing the drain line for the shunt in my head. So the did surgery again and removed my appendix to free up the shunt tube. Kinda gross, kinda relieved. Regardless, yes I’ve had to have a follow up abdominal surgery before. Those can be painful in the recovery. Blessings as you continue!

1 Like

I just found this information

Hope it works

I will look into it. Thanks

1 Like

Hi Blessing, I’ve been living with epilepsy from scar tissue left by 2 craniotomies for about 50 years. I’ve been on a lot more than 3 meds and some of the side effects were disastrous.
But as far as your quality of life, I don’t know what kind of seizures or the frequency of yours. You can still have a great life if you can’t drive or do certain jobs.
It may be preferable to devote your energy in that direction. Best wishes, Greg

3 Likes

Hey there Blessing
About nine months post craniotomy developed epilepsy because of the scars.
Keep us posted on what options they give you If you don’t mind.
I had no idea that this was coming after all of my surgeries.