Re-Applying For my Drivers License 2003

After my AVM I was in no shape to drive, as many of you will imagine.
But I had always loved driving, and I never gave up on doing so again.
I got my doctor’s permission to reapply in late 2002, and by several weeks later
I was tested for driving at what had been my first hospital. That went OK, and
then the state allowed me to reapply for my license just like a 16 year old, taking
all the tests by computer, and also those in a car. I studied for this constantly, but after my AVM collapse it was not easy to study, and remember.

Finally I got my chance, and I was ready. I found the questions on their computer to
be pretty easy. I had been a computer gamer, and the exercises were somewhat
enjoyable to me. Then I was given a test driving, and parallel parking, and the parking
was not easy, but I aced it. But then the local authority applied to those above for my
new license, and they balked. I was informed what was happening as they argued
back and forth. Finally the local authority told their HQ that I had been passed by an
expert, and they had better give me that license. They were in no hurry to give
a survivor of a major brain operation a driving license, but they did.

I was congratulated. I had not driven in more than a year, and at first it was mostly
a matter of remembering how to get to places that I had not thought of in months.
But I did it, and without a GPS. This made me very happy.

I drove at least half way on our next vacation, and two years later I did again as
we drove from the East Coast out to Missouri, and Kansas, and back.

I had only one accident, a few years later, and in that one a sedan tried to pass
a truck, and four cars in a no passing zone, and then they struck me on my car’s
left side at they went by. Plenty of damage, but they got in trouble, not me, and
I recovered, and even better no one else was hurt.

I still drive, and no other accidents or tickets, so far. Thank you God!