Immune Systems Gone Wild?

Anyone have crazy immune system/skin issues after surgery/craniotomy? My body has recovered well overall, but my immune system and digestive system have taken a beating. My friend works in the medical field and says it’s normal for TBI patients to have multi-system issues because the brain is central for most activity. I just need to know I’m not crazy after all this time. I’m 7 months post-surgery.

2 Likes

I was invited to this thread as I have some experience in this area though I am not a AVM patient so here goes:

Not sure whether our AVM ruptured or not, but I’m going to assume that it at there very least caused some injury. It depends on the issues whether it is specifically the brain or not. Brain Injury is well known to cause a suppression of the immune system, but the effect there is in the order of infection. Gut issues skin irritation/breakouts are usually the result of inflammatory processes gone wild - in short an over-active immune system often actually an auto-immune system which is not directly related to brain tissue Damage.

BUT you are not crazy you very well could be having all of these issues as a result of your injury. There was a study recently completed that indicates that about half of all Brain Injury patients show evidence of injury to blood vessels in the meninges. Of course with craniotomy the meninges are effected (you to cut through it_ Unlike brain tissue that can not fix itself, the meninges can. The immune system goes into overdrive to do so. The molecule matrix metalloproteinase 2 (Mmp2) is produced in abundance.