Family of Survivors

Thank you all for being so welcoming to both my husband and myself. I think I am suffering from what I call post traumatic Richie syndrome. There are just so many feelings that pop out of nowhere. I am a nurse and Richie had symptoms several days before The Big Bleed, buzzing in his ear, loss of hearing. He was seeing a doctor and they were treating him for an ear infection. His behavior was really bad over the weeks prior to the bleed, and at that point I was so angry that I really dropped the ball. He was angry all the time, yelling and really unreasonable. After the event I realized why he was behaving so badly and it was likely due to the beginnings of the bleed. I have terrible guilt about this because I knew something was wrong and told him to return to the doctor, but did not push as hard as I normally would have. I know intellectually that most would have acted in the same way that I did, but being a nurse makes me feel even more guilty. I remember the call at work from my daughter, hysterical that he was lying on the floor and then taken by ambulance to the ER. I found him with an agonizing headache, nausea and blood pressure through the roof. No IV started, no antihypertensives or pain meds were given. It was like pulling teeth to get them to do anything. I was at the hospital where I used to work, and when they heard Richie was in the ER some of my old friends came down to check things out. Once they saw the CT scan and told me that pretty much my husband had a head full of blood. I still had to fight to get him medication to control his blood pressure and pain. It took several hours before they placed the ventriculostomy to relieve some of the pressure…way too long. I had to make the decision to have him transfered to Penn State Hershey Medical Center via helicopter. That decision was not well received by the staff, and one of the nurses actually said that it might be the last time I saw my husband because of my decision. It was hard