A type of prosthetic hand

Hey everyone,

Hope your day is going well. Now I know my idea is far from now but, does anyone know research that is being done on "robot skins" that fit over your actual body parts like your hand or leg. I believe I put a "robot skin over my actual hand and leg maybe I can regain some of the function. I am too old to regain full function but, I believe that this kind of technology could benefit me except I do not know of research being done or if this is even possible. Thank you for read and I hope to read your response.

Hi Kevin, my degree is in prosthetics and orthotics, although due to my avm I’ve not been keeping up to date the past year. So This info may well be rubbish!
As far as I know a “prosthetic skin” in the field is usually an acrylic layer that fits over a prosthesis to make it look like a normal skin coloured body part.

I think I know what you are getting at though, and the closest thing I can think of is a mechanical orthosis for your hand/ arm. I would suggest you type “myomo arm” into google and have a look around. It’s a light brace not a skin, but I’ve seen it in action with soldiers after paralysing spinal injuries and it really works wonders!
Hope this helps a little!

As for the legs I’d try a spring loaded knee brace! Again unfortunately nothing as sleek as a second skin!

http://www.medgadget.com/2014/02/amputee-naturally-feels-through-bionic-hand-video.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+Medgadget+%28Medgadget%29

try this link from Medgaget Kevin.

Look at the options by Saebo