Who else has been given a second chance?

After my avm operation, as I am a high functioning survivor I went back to normal life. This obviously was not conducive and a total disaster. I tried to work full-time, then part-time. Because I am high functioning and not in a wheel chair it was harder for people to understand my invisible disability. I got a degree and carried on until I hit a point where something had to give. Instead of having one 'proper' job (like what 'normal' people have) I am now blessed to have three little jobs where I am able to dip in and out as needed.

It took just one very special person to believe in me (after all the failures, misunderstandings and labelling by other people). In this job I am challenged and able to use my skills. This person, who knows and understands me has changed my life, he knows how grateful I am to him. He has given me belief in myself and that has fed into other areas of my life. I am doing more than I ever did but still managing to keep afloat. Yes I still get tired, but I am not beating myself up or trying to do the impossible any more.

I had to change my life. Something had to give. I could not have it all or do it all. It took a long time to learn that.

I am posting this in the hope that it will help others.

Does anyone have a similar experience?

flower
x

Hi James - where is that magic wand when you neeed it? =)

I think that anyone who has been through surgery, etc. and lived has a second-chance. My main problem with being a recovering-perfectionist is that I sometimes get paralyzed by analysis. I tend to think about what to do too much - instead of just doing it and screwing up.