What to expect.. Ruptured AVM

I’m new to all this and have my information second hand. I’m hoping someone can help me out. My mother ruptured an unknown AVM last week and it was finally discovered on Friday evening. They just told her today it was a AVM and she’ll need emergency surgery. They may have found a another non ruptured in the back of her head. The burst AVM is in the front left of her brain. Because of Covid I can’t see her or talk to the doctors to get the full story. Can anyone tell me what I might expect?

This ruptured the night before she was supposed to retire. :slightly_frowning_face:

I’m sorry for the trouble you both are having! There is a wealth of persons I’m sure you’re going to be introduced to. You are in a good spot here but also your local brain aneurysm foundation (https://bafound.org/). I hope she makes a full recovery.

Welcome to the board - unfortunately, not under the best of conditions of course

I was in ICU last year when mine ruptured right through COVID in July. I got to see my wife once for about 3-5 minutes before undergoing a embolization - and, that’s just because the OR nurse was such a nice person. Otherwise they didn’t want to let her through into the ICU.

I can’t ad much to what her condition or severity is - but, FaceTime saved me so much grief. I was on it prob way more than anyone wanted to hear from me - it’s the only way I could keep myself from completely freaking out, considering I was bedridden with a bed alarm.

The neurosurgeon team & ICU staff were my friends for over a week.

Please try your best to keep yourself & her calm - Our prayers & best wishes are with you both :slight_smile:

Morning @TheCaptain

I’m sorry your mum is so poorly (and classic bad timing, on the last day of work) though I retired last March and haven’t had a retirement celebration with my colleagues yet, due to the coronavirus situation, too.