What am I in store for? I need help

My name is Nick and I am 18yrs old. I recently got diagnosed with an avm in my right parietal lobe at about 3.5cm and a grade 2 speltzer scale. Just 2 days ago i had an angiogram done and am set to go in for embolization in june 15th and brain surgery on the 17 of june 2011. The neurosurgeon gave me info on the procedure but it is not the same as hearing from people who have been or who are going through what im going to be going through. I am so scared of what might happen. I am a professional golfer and am so physically active everyday! Im scared that i could lose the most important part of my life which is my golf. I have no idea of whats ahead of me in life but golf is my everything and i cant imagine living without it. so my question to everyone is can you guys tell me what its going to be like for me and share your stories with me. it would mean so much to me if you guys can help me become better informed and more prepared for the long and tough road ahead. thank you

Welcome to a group full of friendship, knowledge and support Nick:)

I am glad you found us so soon!

My avm is also in the right parietal lobe, in the middle of the motor strip, large > 6cm with multiple feeders (4). You are velcome to read my story, but bear in mind that each avm is unique and also the outcome of each treatment.

Having said that, it is always good to get a second opinion and to do some research before deciding what is the best option in your case.

If you have any questions or feel like sharing your thoughts, I am always here for a chat.

Positive thoughts from Hanne xxx