Walking/Balance Problems - Need to hear from you

My brother (age 55) had successful surgery from Cavernous Malformation at brain stem 3 months ago. He had lost many functions before surgery including vision, drooping eyelids and balance. Although some of these functions have improved, his balance is still not happening. He spent 6 weeks at rehab and continues to go twice a week as outpatient.
Has anyone had severe balance/walking issues and how was your progress? We are in the dark about what to expect and what might improve chances of getting somewhat better. We realize all cases are unique but would like to hear from others that have experienced some of these symptoms.

Hi,
As you already said every case is unique. But I can tell how it was with me. My avm was in the cerebellum. After my surgery I wasn’t able to stand for 10 sec without holding myself. My surgery was last December and now I can ride my bike again. The big difference is that I am 28 years old and I am a sport student in university. So I had the best conditions to get better. But it was a lot of work with daily training and also 5 weeks rehab and after that twice weekly as outpatient. I still go once a week to my physio therapist. I know I was very, very lucky but don’t give up. 3 months is not a long time for the recovery. I wish you all the best and hang on! your support is really important for your brother!

The good news is he’s still improving, and three months is still very early in recovery. At three months I was just leaving the hospital in a wheelchair. I’m now at two+ years, and although I still don’t have use of my left arm, I’m walking with a quad foot cane. When I look back, it’s amazing how far I’ve come, and I’m still making progress.
Never give up, and have great patience with your brother. Press his therapists for more information. If you don’t like what you hear, there’s always other therapists. Hang in there!