Thanks for being a great resource, time to introduce myself

Hi everyone. My names Amanda and I am a 28 year old living in the Seattle area of the US. 3 months ago I had a seizure, then another. After the MRI it was discovered I have a 4.3 cm by 2.?cm AVM in the center of my right temporal lobe.
The next plan is to have a consultation with the surgeons and I guess I’ll be getting an embolization.

I do have some confusion, so I do come with a question.

My EEG showed “ sharp waves over the right parietal region consistent with an area of cortical irritability“ but I must not understand correctly. Shouldn’t the activity be in my temporal lobe?

Hello Amanda! It’s great that you found us.

Now, I don’t know – I’m not a doctor – but perhaps, although your AVM is in your temporal lobe, the effect it is having is in your parietal lobe, due to how it is adversely affecting your blood flow.

1 Like

Welcome Amanda. Can’t help much with your question but I am interested in what your Dr. says! Everything is so connected and I have learned there are often a lot of unanswered questions, or at least definitively answered. It would seem with the brain 2 plus 2 has about a 90 % chance of equalling 4, and a 10% chance of it being something we can’t explain! I hope that makes sense! Take Care, John.but everything is so connected

3 Likes

Wow that makes sense. Sometimes my brain just doesn’t understand things, I appreciate your response. This is such a Confusing and scary time.

1 Like

Thank you :slight_smile:

Hi Amanda, Sorry to hear of all you’re going through. I can relate. I had 2 seizures this month related to an AVM and 2 surgeries. I think you’re doing the right thing by reaching out here and hopefully in other ways. It’s a scary/painful time. I will offer you any support I can give and also just be here to listen. Greg

3 Likes

Hey Amanda,