SO scared

I am about 2 months away from having surgery to remove my AVM. it’s a decent size of 3 cm, and in the occipital lobe. I have had surgeries before, but this is a lot worse. We were lucky and it was found completely by accident. SO I feel like getting it removed before it ruptures would be such a blessing. But I am terrified of losing my sight. I am a digital artist, as well as a dancer, and well, I just can’t imagine a world that I can no longer see. I am desperately looking for something or someone that can help me ease this fear. Maybe even someone that had one removed form a similar area. I hope I find my help.

I meet my neurosurgon in less then a week, and will be scheduling the srugery then.

Hi Lyssa,
Did your surgeon explain the risks of the surgery to you and how it will affect you?? You should be as well informed as you can be and f get several opinions. The most important thing is that you trust your surgeon. It is normal to be scared and anxious before surgery, but a qualified surgeon should put you at ease.
Re: your fears about losing your sight. You would be surprised what you can do with limitations. You learn to adapt because you have to. We’re survivors! Besides, after surgery, you’d most likely get OT and help you readjust and adapt with whatever limitations you many face. It is definately better to get rid of the AVM before it ruptures. Take it from me - I had 2 bleeds and it hurts! Good luck and happy researching!