Returning side effects

Hi everyone, newbie here and so glad to have discovered this support group.
My husband was diagnosed many years ago (probably about 20) with an unruptured AVM, parietial and temporal lobe. 3 embolisations and 2 gamma knife surgeries later (2007 and 2011 or 12) he was given the great news in 2016 there was no longer any evidence of malformation. Obviously we were delighted.
He has remained on seizure meds (he has been on these for about 20 years…carbamazapine 400mg). He took a big seizure about 2 years after 1st gamma back in 2009. He took a second seizure 6 months ago. Lately he has been getting come and go tingling on right side of whole body and i can see he is struggling with his words/speech at times, mainly when he is really tired…a couple of weeks ago his general doctor (not a neurologist upped his dosage by 200mg after he said how he was feeling) His neurosurgeon advised that as he has scar tissue from gamma, this activity is to be expected but as he hasnt been seen in 5 years, a check up mri wouldnt do any harm so will have this but will be a few months before being seen. Thing is, it is so hard getting him to say how he is really feeling. He gets frustrated at me because i keep asking…he says he is fine when i can see he isnt. I have so many questions. Is this really to be expected? Is this relatively “normal” for someone who has had this surgery? Can he become tolerant to the drugs he has been on for so many years? He was devastated at last seizure because of loss of license which is getting him down. Would a new or additional medication help? Has the upping of his current meds caused more harm than good? I feel so lost, he can speak to his doctor or consultant but wont really say too much whereas i have no one to speak to and yet have so much i want to say/ask. I’m finding it really hard, i love him and just want the best for him and for him to get the best of whatever it is to help control this but i dont know what to do.

1 Like