Really, Symptoms not AVM Related

Now, I have already been through my, OMGosh I have an AVM.What's an AVM? There's little info on AVM's. Your only option in surgery. You have a 90% chance of bleeding on the table. Congratulations your a survivor. Oh sorry, now we have made you an epileptic.

But before those days there were the 5 years of symptoms. Debilitating migraines, tremors, unexplained stuttering. I began to have painful joints. I seen flashes of lights (oh yes, auras), I would get super hot, even taste blood sometimes. Guess what the neurologist did...sent me to have my blood sugar tested. HAHAHA. And not one neurologist but a few different ones. Change my migraine meds, tell me I was stressing myself out, maybe I had anxiety, and never do a CT or MRI.See I was a Soldier, 17-23 yrs old, changing neuros everytime I turned around bc either I was moving or the doc was. So there was no continuity of care.

But as I have done research throughout the years that I have been through this I see the medical field still trying to deny that these same symptoms that so many people have are not signs of an AVM and I just do not get it. When are they going to wake up. If I had gotten an MRI earlier then I may not have needed surgery and not be epileptic now and not be facing possible epilepsy surgery and there are probably many cases just like mine that is caught sooner would not have gotten so large. Why deny symptoms that so many people have.

As well I see that many people have seizures after resections, but were never told that was a risk. But it seems to be so common.

Crystal,

As you get to read more and more stories from others, you will see that there are many successful stories. You will likely have to take some meds to hopefully stave off the seizures, but that risk could go away as you get past your treatment. I can imagine the various guesses from doctors is frustrating, I know that's been a point of frustration for me.