Quantcast

AVM Survivors Network

Radiation after Surgery

So. I had a bleed December 24, 2016. My AVM was in the Pons. It was removed March 14, 2017. It has been a year and I’m still learning to walk and I still can’t use my hand. Its a long road but I’m still fighting. However I just had my angiogram and there is still a small piece of the malformation in my brain stem. He did not want to operate there. So now I’ll have a radiation consult. Will they be able to do the radiation? What are the side effects? What if they say no will it rupture again? Doctors are not very useful when it comes to answering questions because “every situation is different.” Has anyone else had this experience? FYI, I’m new to the site and hoping to get some good insight and support from other survivors. Thank you.

Hi

I’ve seen quite a few conversations about pons, cerebellum and brain stem AVMs and your post prompted me to try to gather these stories together.

So… just for you (and any other brainstem, cerebellum, pons, posterior fossa) and any other infratentorial or deep brain AVM folk, I’ve gathered some stories together here: http://www.avmsurvivors.org/c/types-of-avms/cerebellumandbrainstem

I hope some folk with similar experience can help you. I do have to warn that some stories are very old and the storytellers may no longer regularly visit. Our site migrated from one IT “platform” to another in summer 2016 and not everyone stayed with the change in technology.

The impression I get is that doctors do undertake interventions in these areas these days, though I don’t know how much more frequently, and with what success rates such things are done.

I hope this helps, even if only a little.

Very best wishes

Richard

Thank you for taking the time to gather the information. I really appreciate it.

Hey,

You’re welcome. It’s what I hang around here for. I’ve got a bit of Admin power and I’m prepared to try to use it for the good of mankind! :sunglasses: