Post-op memory changes? Memory impairment, memory talents? Thanks!

AVM survivor. My memory is damaged and gifted. My memory impairment began in infancy/early childhood. I could not recall numbers and certain details in preschool/elementary school.

To compensate, I wrote music and poetry which corresponded to my eventually-memorized textbooks. Such as a poem which began with the letter 'C' for California in geography. Despite my handicap, I was a straight A student thanks to music.

After my AVM resection, my memory changed in a unique way. My memories of immediate events have a 'skip' in them, like a fraction of a second missing. ( I lose my keys a lot!) My long-term memory performs even better, especially in regard to certain autobiographical information, personal experiences and music. A gift, a blessing and a curse! Does anyone else have interesting memory impairments and talents? Thanks so much for sharing!

Hi thegrassrootsgirl :) , Like any good test you need to have a benchmark to test against, I really do wish I had such a test before and after my AVM burst and was removed !, I am quite forgetful, but I'm sure I was before also. I'm just not sure how much so !. A lot of our members have changes in memory and this is something I've seen loads over the years here. I did a search for you which you can see the results and I hope this gives you what your looking for :) , I do know that some of the members here take notes (both voice notes and written ones) for reminders. Good luck and hope things work out well :) .

http://www.avmsurvivors.org/main/search/search?q=memory