Please help me to get know about the recovery of AVM survivor

My cousin had an AVM on left side. Dr. suggested to perform the embolization. During the embolization his veins rupture which lead to open surgery for 3--4 hours which caused stroke on right side of his body. He was in recovery for 4 days and then ICU for next few days. This all happened on 8th of Aug. A month and 15 days has been passed. Day by day we are getting improvement like; he is getting normal sleep now for 12 hours in night and 2 hours in day. Start taking normal food but his right body is very weak. Physiotherapy is in progress and we are getting little improvement. He lost his speech after the surgery but from last one week he got his speech back. He is 26, married and a sweet 1 year old girl.

We are worried about his memory. As he remembers most of the things and he recognize to all his relatives but few often he start treating like he don’t remember anything. He is chartered accountant by profession but if we asked him about his job, he doesn’t remember much. Few often he starts talking totally irrelevant. We are so much concern regarding his mentally health. Is this happen in AVM bleed recovery or in stroke?? How long approximately it will take to get him back into normal life. He is not taking any medicine. Doctor suggested that he will regain everything by time. We have observed that he can even read with big fonts. We need support if anyone has been into same situation please share his/her experience.
Main concern Is about his mentally health as he is not normal after 45 days.

Thanks a lot for your reply. what I have extracted from your reply is "It will take time to heal every thing" I wish to see him normal again. Thanks Again!!!

This is such a sad story for such a young person with a young family. I thank God he recognizes his family especially his child & wife.