Newbie here

Hello. My name is Ron. My wife had a rupture in her cerebellum May 8 2013. She spent 7 days in ICU and a month in rehab. She is doing well. You would never know she had a stroke. She does have some balance issues but nothing she can’t overcome.

Jump ahead to yesterday. She had an angiogram and it showed an AVM less than a cm. we have to see a neurosurgeon to see what’s next.

I came here to get information on surgery and gamma knife. I’m hoping we just didn’t not have to wait out a ticking time bomb. I’m scared, scared of surgery and what recovery means for it.

I just feel lost and am searching for answers.

Hi ron, I cannot advise on surgery or gamma knife as I haven’t undergone them myself yet. I’m hoping I will get gamma knife in the new year as surgery is not an option for me. It is a really scary time for you and your wife, I understand that all too well. I was only diagnosed myself about a month ago and I’m already frustated by the pace of movement when dealing with avms. Having undergone the stress and treatment for one avm that bad enough but to find another is very rare and unfortunate for you both but hopefully because the first one ruptured they will move quickly with the new one and treat it quickly. I wish you both well.

Is surgery not an option due to the location of urs? I wish u the best of luck! I fully believe that things happen when it’s meant to happen, even though not always when we want it to but stay strong.

We are not sure of anything yet. We have not met the neurosurgeon

Hi, Ron. I'm so sorry to hear you and your wife are going through this, it's not easy. The three options for treatment are gamma knife, which can only be used in some cases and does not work on larger AVMs, surgery, and embolization. Oftentimes surgery involves embolization to try to reduce the size of the AVM and reduce the risk of a rupture during surgery before actually doing surgery itself.