New?

I am COMPLETELY new to the AVM "diagnosis". Really wanted to join group just for the simple fact that I believe it will be good for me to interact with others in the same situation. Family & friends are great but have NEVER been in my situation! I have 2 kids a 3 yr old and 5 month old. I can't drive until at least november bc of a black out/siezure maybe even later bc of recent episode. I was put on the generic brand of Keppra 500mg on may 26th but it just doesnt make me feel like myself!! No one seems to get it!

Hi Mrs. Dodson. A lot of people on here are on Keppra. Sometimes it takes a while for the body to adjust to it. If not there are several other types of anti-seizure drugs out there. Go ahead and scream and shout on here if you want to...we've all been there.

Thank You so much! Kinda feel stupid at times bc others act like its no big deal too have an AVM. So glad to hear that others feel the same way I do

Barbara H. said:

Hi Mrs. Dodson. A lot of people on here are on Keppra. Sometimes it takes a while for the body to adjust to it. If not there are several other types of anti-seizure drugs out there. Go ahead and scream and shout on here if you want to...we've all been there.

Brain AVMs occur in less than one percent of the general population. I did a search on here for the word Keppra...

http://www.avmsurvivors.org/main/search/search?q=keppra

I am pretty sure that everyone has told you to have a positive attitude. Easier said than done when you do not feel well. However, a sense of humor will get you through some of the tough times ahead.

You have one major blessing right now...you have not had a major bleed. I will be praying for you!

Welcome Mrs. Dodson and am so glad that you found this online support site! Everyone on this site is so wonderful and is here for the same reason as you --> the interaction with others as we recover from our AVM diagnosis/treatment keeps us all hopeful and the outpouring of support and prayers is amazing.