New member saying hello with my story

Hi Everyone,

Im Wally, I have been following this site in and out since my first and only a back in July 2016 on my dirty 30bday lol, it was nice to see everyone’s success and stories here along with people supporting each other,

My quick story, July 2016 tonic-clonic seizure after a restless night post workout and energy drink, may or may not have been the cause of seizure due to years of drinking that stuff.

Although after dislocating and snapping my shoulder, emergency CT scan. The avm was discovered, fast forward today post angiogram and few scans, I basically live with a left side " low risk" speztler-martin 4 avm.

I am not a doctor but have grown to be quite knowledgeable from research, reading many articles and studies from every aspect to ( biological factor, risks in the treatments available, current new therapies etc ) I even try to find online classes of surgeon teachings on avms etc.

This to say, Hi to all from Canada and feel free to ask any questions and I hope I can help someone as I was helped from readings here throughout the past few years.

2 Likes

Welcome to the site! I also discovered what an AVM was and that I had one in 2016, although it took a while for me to be able to remember what it was and had to asked my wife, the short term memory was misfiring. Since then I have had gamma knife surgery on a grade II and just passed the two year mark. A ton of experience on here and its great you’re here to be a part of our group and am sure you’ll be able to help.

The people on this site are amazing, and we generally understand each other, particularly in respect to challenges. Thanks for being here, and I’m about 2400km west of you just outside Winnipeg, or Winterpeg as it is affectionately known! Take Care, John.

Hi John,

Thanks for the greetings, how was your avm discovered and what’s your current status / issues with it .

Thanks