New here

Hi there, hoping you all doing great! Recently I was diagnosed cerebellum avm in Toronto Western Hospital. I had extremely headache and vomited many times, but I thought it was because of the nervous, so that I didn’t go to hospital right after. However, the headache didn’t disappear after two days, so that I went to ER in Toronto General. They gave me a CT scan and told me my brain had bled. Then I was transferred to Toronto Western by ambulance ( first time doing this, pretty exciting lol ). In Toronto Western, the doctor told me I have avm, and this was the first time I acknowledge this disease. I did another CT scan, MRI and embolization there. Now I’m waiting for my next embolization and gamma knife, which will be in Feb.
And do you guys live alone, I mean I’m a student of U of T St George, I’m really concerned re-bleed after gamma knife ( although there is only 4% per year and is decreasing with time according to my surgeon), so is it ok to live on my own? Or probably I should find a roommate or a homestay.
Sorry for the super long posting, hope you guys have a goooooooood day and night, if there are any gramma mistakes, please ignore them, I’m an international student and English is not my first language.

1 Like

Jimmy,

Hi! Welcome to avmsurvivors! It’s great you found us!

I haven’t had a bleed (I discovered my AVM because I could hear it) but I know that when I got my diagnosis, it bothered me a lot that I might have a bleed. My work wanted to send me home (and have me work from home sometimes while I was ill with it, because it was making me a bit unsteady on my feet and I think they didn’t want me falling down the stairs at work – too much paperwork, maybe!) but I felt safest being at work than spending 8h a day on my own at home. It doesn’t feel like the most sensible thing to be alone for long periods, does it?