New AVM member

My name is Janice and I was diagnosed with having an AVM after waking up in Dec 2017 with stroke like symptoms. I’m a registered nurse and knew what stroke symptoms were. The ER doctor stated I didn’t have a stroke as I had left sided weakness and numbness including my face. Next day the numbness moved to the right side of my face. Blood was drawn and found I had B12 deficiency so they placed me on injections. The numbness and weakness continued for 5 months and my sister who is a nurse also kept stating I have had a stroke. I called my PCP and scheduled an appointment she referred me to a neurologist and I requested a MRI he ordered with and without contrast and found I indeed had a stroke. He then ordered a MRA and CTA and found I have AVM on my right side of my brainstem. I’m blessed to be alive… I’ve had two embolizations. My neurologist was able to successfully emobilize 25% the first time and 30% a week and half ago. My embolizations were 6 months apart. With this second embolization I have been having slight headaches and sometimes sharp pain in my head. I emailed both of my doctors to let them (surgeon and neurologist) both know. My surgeon is referring me to have radio-surgery but he says it’s something I really need to think about because of possible residual effects. I’m wanting to receive a second opinion and weigh my options. I would like to receive feedback from anyone. Thank you

1 Like

Hi Jstanfield: