My AVM came back and I don’t know what to do…this is my story

Hi everyone,
My name is Sandra and Im new to this support group. Iv never done anything like this before, I’m hoping that with the support of this group, my journey this time around won’t be as difficult.

Here is my story…
In October of 2004 I was diagnosed with a 3.5cm Brain AVM located in my left lobe. Ever since I was a child I suffered from migraine headaches but never paid much attention to them. It was not until I was 28 where my headaches became more intense that my primary care physician decided to order a CT scan and that’s when my AVM was discovered.

I was instantly referred to a Neurosurgeon for follow up test and treatment options. They quickly determined that it was too risky to surgically remove my AVM because of where it was located. They said I would run the risk of losing some or all of my vision. They decided the best form of treatment would be Gamma-Knife Radiosurgery. I was completely terrified. At that that time I found it so hard to find any information about my condition let alone a support group like this. Luckily I was newly engaged and had a wonderful family who love and supported me. But we were all so lost. I spent so much time on the internet trying to find any and everything about AVM’s which only made me more terrified.

Anyway I just left it in Gods and my Dr.’s hands and proceeded with the Radiosurgery in December of 2004. The procedure it’s itself was not bad but that night when I got home I experienced my first seizure ever. I was rushed back to the hospital where I was instantly placed on anti seizure medications.