Infant with AVM

Hi everyone,

I am completely new to the AVM world. Google has been my best friend but also not!

When I was pregnant, I had my first routine sonogram. The techican found this blob of mass and so came the MRI’s and so on. At first, they said it was Dural Venous Thrombosis so I googled like crazy about of it. Throughout my pregnancy, it remain the same and did not grow in size so they just kept monitoring.

Plans were made about my delivering and what would happen afterwards. My baby stayed in the ICU even though everything seemed ok. They wanted to closely monitor him. He had an MRI a few hours after he was born and they then changed the diagnose to AVM. My husband and I are again at square 1 with all the information and are overwhelmed with all the terms.

Sorry, long post. I have close to million questions and would like you guys who habe experienced it to give me your thoughts and opinions.

1. Is there any parents here who has a child with AVM or anyone here who had it as baby?

2. What routine check ups did you have to do? I ask because they want my baby to have an MRI every 3 months and then sedate him once he starts to move alot which is probably the next go round. We are really worried about the MRIs but more so about sedating him all the time when he has one done since he is only 3 months.

3. Did any of you guys or your baby have a brain bleed as a baby? Did it in any way impact him/her?

4. What are good questions to ask the Neuro? He provided us all our information but I feel like we need to ask questions but don’t know what to ask. He said the AVM is in the frontal lobe, it does not appear to be deep in the brain but they are worried if there is a bleed, it will put pressure on his brain.

I will stop with the questions here. My baby is a happy, calm and wonderful baby so far. I am so grateful for him but at the same time, I am worried about his future.

Thank you in advance for reading, your answers and any input you can give me.