Hi, I need some information

I am Ruby my great niece 13 year old Olive had a bleed on the right frontal part of her head on the 14th November 2020.
After 4 weeks we were told she has an AVM, I have been reading on line extensively and found the name of a man called Rene Chapot…please does anyone know of this man and what are your thoughts. My niece and her husband and family have been plunged into hell and I want to find out about this man who I have heard speak and read about.
Many many thanks,
Ruby

Welcome Ruby. I hope we are able to be of some assistance. I have no knowledge of Rene Chapot but did look at google and ddid a quick read. It’s likely someone in our group has possibly been treated by him. I had a bleed in 2016 due to an AVM in my left temporal. Embolization was determined to not be an option for me, my choices in treatment were gamma knife and craniotomy. It was ultimately determined over a period of months that gamma knife would be the least risky route.

Where is your niece located? There are a lot of great places to deal with our AVMs, and in a fair number of cases the best option is to monitor. There are so many variables in dealing with these. I was comforted by having a neurosurgeon I trusted completely. My thoughts are with you, your niece and her family. Take Care, John.

Hi John,

Thank you for your response…I hope that you are doing better now, you don’t say if you are finished your GKnife treatment.
Olive is in Bristol and being operated on as we speak, it is impossibly difficult for her mum she has only just finished her own serious health issues!
The surgeons at Bristol saved Olives life when she went in with the bleed god bless them, the reason I am exploring is they have done an opp last week on the AVM and stopped as they said it was too risky and are replacing her bone today. This poor kid is going through enough and I want to make sure that the next move is done by the best person as there is no room for error!