Quantcast

Hello there! I’m a young stroke survivor!

Hey, I’m Calli,this is my first time posting, so I figured I’d post my story. I was 23 years old (just recently turned 24) when almost 6 months ago I was hanging out with my boyfriend when I started to get a horrible migraine and tried to ignore it. Although I have no memory of it, my boyfriend told me when I was dealing with my migraine I lost the use of the left half of my body and I tried to stand up multiple times and fell over, I threw up and lost control of my bladder. He called 911 and rushed me to the hospital.I had such a severe hemmorhage that the entire right half of my brain was flooded with blood. I was pronounced “functionally dead” the doctor knocked on a wood table and told my family and my boyfriend if the wood was a 4 I was at a 3. They were told I could possibly not make it even after having brain surgery and the doctors prepared my family and my boyfriend for the chance of me coming out completely unable to take care of myself. They warned my family I could possibly lose my short term memory as well. By the grace of God alone,thankfully none of those things happened! I was moved from the icu to a normal room in the hospital. I remember, my room was down the hall from another stroke patient who was there for 2 months and unable to talk, and I was there 12 days after my stroke visiting with family and singing along to music.My recovery was mind blowing to the doctors. They called me a miracle. I spent jan 25th-march 1st in a rehab hospital learning to move my left side,walk and work through the damage my brain suffered. In 6 months, I went from being about an hour away from death to walking on my own with a brace on my foot, and a sling on my left arm which I can move but can’t control all the muscles, I worked through a left-side neglect and a temporary short-term memory loss and my concentration and attention was hindered by the stroke as well. It’s been a tough road, but I’m starting to work