Quantcast

Hello...anybody here in Ireland?

Hello

I’m a newbie here. I have a cerebral AVM which ruptured out of the blue in 2016. I’ve got away fairly lightly - some residual minor problems with my speech, and epilepsy which is well controlled (fingers crossed). I had stereotactic radiosurgery to treat the AVM in 2017, but won’t know whether it has worked / is working until another scan in early 2019.

Is there anybody on here at the moment from Ireland? I’ve searched and found some older posts, but don’t know if those people are still around.

I currently live in the UK, and had my AVM rupture and gamma knife treatment here. But I’m considering moving home to Ireland soon. So I’m trying to figure out what my treatment options / experiences would be like there. I’ve come across a couple of names of consultants (Rawluk and Javadpour), and spoke to one of their secretaries who said that they are currently using stereotactic radiosurgery on AVMs in Beaumont (my previous research suggested that they had the kit but were only using it on tumours).

If there is anyone Irish here - would you be willing to tell me about your treatment experiences / waiting times etc? I’m just slightly nervous about going home to the public system at home after having had really good care in Sheffield.

Thanks
Steely

Steely,

I’ve seen a few people saying they are from Ireland but most, to my memory, have had their treatment in Great Britain. I hope you’ll get some people who can say otherwise.

Best wishes,

Richard