Quantcast

AVM Survivors Network

Grief and Gratitude - Is it either/or or "and?"

Before I jump too far into this, I feel like I need to tell you a couple of things:

1. I have no formal training in counseling, pastoral care, grief management or any of that. So don’t assume, well TJ’s got professional experience in these. I don’t.
  2. I do have personal experience. There are many people who think that adoption is a “wonderful” thing and that it is all rainbows and butterflies and unicorns. Nope. Adoption is dealing with loss. “Why didn’t my parents want me?” “Why am I a different color than you are?” You’re not my “real mom.” The list goes on - actually, I’m in the process (early stages) of a book on adoption - "The Starfish Poem is wrong - and 25 other things that white people do to make adoption more difficult. Today is 16 years to the date from when I went from being the father of three, to the father of 5.
  3. Battling this disease - I’ve been fighting it every day for 42 years. Sometimes it’s easy, sometimes it’s hard.

So, in this question and all of them going forward, do not, please, do not assume that I’ve got this stuff figured out. I don’t. I’m merely a guy who has been around the block so many times I’m starting to wear a grove in the pavement - and I don’t want you to stub your toe or sprain your ankle on my groove.

One other thing - I’m a firm believer that if one of us has a question and raises it, there’s a very good chance that 5 to 15 to 50 more of us have the same question. That is, in part, the power behind a group like this. That’s why I’m going to do each of these as a separate article.

TJ

Question: “How do you balance the grief of what you’ve lost with the gratefulness of what you have?”