Gamma knife surgery

I have to have Gamma Knife surgery on Jan 22nd. I was wondering about recovery. Was your recovery as expected? How long after did you return to work? Any complications, side effects? Comments Please!

I've had 3 Gamma Knife treatments. I was able to schedule all of mine at the beginnings of vacations, so I didn't have to go back to work right away (I'm a teacher).

I had my 2nd one in Dec. 2011 on a Wednesday. Saturday morning, I was finishing my Christmas shopping & mopping floors since my brother had decided he & his new fiancee were coming to visit & called me on Friday to let me know! I probably could have returned to work on Monday if it hadn't been a school holiday.

I had migraines for a couple of days prior to my 3rd GK and they just kept on for several days afterwards. It took me over a week to get back to normal that time. It was summer break, so I was able to stay home & take it easy.

The only real side effect I've had is hair loss. I was told multiple times I wouldn't lose my hair, but I lost patches of hair after my 1st & 3rd GK treatments.

I've also had a craniotomy to clip two aneurysms--GK is a piece of cake compared to a crani!

I got big headaches so took it easy for few weeks. Resumed to normal work then…got cerebral edema as a side effect after few months but that could be just me reacting to the treatment. Everyone’s body reacts to this treatment differently…is what I’ve been told. As for the hair loss is concerned it depends on the location of your Avm. I was told that i won’t hv the hair loss but i did…the patch grew back eventually. Please make sure you r aware of all the possible complications if u r not already …good luck and best wishes

I was never able to return to work after Gamma.

Good Lord! Why did you have to have so many surgeries, if you don't mind me asking. I've never had a migraine and I pray i don't get them now. thank you for your response. Hope all is well w/ you now!