Gamma Knife Radiation (2nd attempt)

Hello everyone,

This is my first post, so I am a little nervous, but so happy to finally feel like I am among people that understand how I feel and what I am going through.

I have been fighting my AVM for 6 years. Surgery is not an option due to location. It is right between my vision and speech and doctors have said that I would either die or be blind if they tried surgery.

So, 12 angiograms, 4 embollizations, and now on my 2nd attempt at the Gamma Knife, I am still fighting this battle. The embollizations have also caused me to have visual seizures, so I will now be on seizure medication for the rest of my life.

On June 15th, I head to UVA Hospital for my second Gamma Knife treatment. My doctor is Dr. Steiner who helped create/invent the Gamme Knife machine. He is amazing. He is no longer at UVA and is now in Germany, but I am now with his counter parts and in good hands.

Getting nervous. I feel that the worst parts of the Gamma Knife are the halo and afterward, I lose my hair. They say it's because my AVM is so close to my skull. Does anyone else lose their hair?

Also, I am doing this second treatment because one of my first embollized parts of my AVM has opened up and started allowing blood to flow again. They said this was so rare and almost un-heard of. Has this happened to anyone else? I know that the embollization process is rather new and this is bound to happen eventually to someone, but just wondering if there is anyone out there.

Thanks,
Molly

I havent' had embolization. I just had my 3rd Gamma Knife treatment last week.

Last summer, I had my first GK for the AVM, then had a craniotomy for aneurysms. I did end up losing a patch of hair in the fall. My hair dresser told me that anesthesia can cause hair loss, so I don't know if it was from the GK or from the crani. I had my second GK just before Christmas, and haven't noticed any hair loss since then.