Family members of AVM sufferers

Hi all,

Firstly I would like to introduce myself, MY name is Michael, I live in Australia but originally from the UK, I have two wonderful kids and my wife Leona who was diagnosed with an AVM in September.

The past few weeks has been an emotional roller coaster, to start off with Leona was having problems with her Achilles, this lead to problems down one side of her body. After numerous scans we was informed that she had an AVM in the centre of her brain. I am not a medical expert so I did not know what this was, I really had to reeducate myself and let my kids know in the easiest possible way. Faye is turning 8 soon and she really does understand a lot more than we give her credit for, she does get very upset when she see’s Leona down, but Miles “4” just wants too kick footballs and climb trees.

Leona joined the AVM SURVIVORS a couple of weeks ago, so I thought I would too. I think when something like this happens in a family it really does effect everyone concerned and not just the individual.

I would ask anyone who is going through the same set of thing to get in touch, such things as, how you deal with certain situations, snappy wife’s or husbands, how do you tell the kids, what to expect when the treatment starts etc etc

To finish off I would like to run a Marathon next year for AVM Survivors, this is to raise money and awareness, so help with sponsors, maybe you would like to help raise money or complete the run, then let me know.

Thanks for reading.