Quantcast

AVM Survivors Network

Embolization Experience & Advice Please

Hi

I was born with a frontal, temporal & orbital AVM on my left eye.

I’m due a pre op on the 3rd Monday December and 4th Tuesday Embolisation.

Welcome! Its great you’re here and sounds like you’ll have a lot happening over the next while with treating your AVM. We have a number of folks here from the UK who have gone through a variety of treatment including embolization. I’m not that tech savvy to link them directly and just realized I must learn this! Feel free to ask this group any questions you may have, and again thanks for being here! Take Care, John.

A post was split to a new topic: Well Done

Hi. I had an embolization of my DAVF in April 2017 and I would describe it as “ok”. I’m not very good at surgical things, so the idea of a craniotomy would have scared me witless (same as anyone else) but to my mind, an embolization was a good idea… minimal invasion and see if that did the job before we get any more serious. So I think embo is a good option. Do you feel ok about it? Is there anything you want to ask about it?

I would say it is quite uncomfortable but with plenty of meds post op, I was ok. When I look back at my notes, I do describe being quite uncomfortable but I feel it was eminently gettable-throughable. Nothing to worry about! :slight_smile:

@corrine has a much more extensive AVM than me, has had an altogether tougher time, and has so far only been able to reduce her AVM in size, rather than obliterate it completely. So there’s definitely a scale to it.

I think my favourite advice for angiograms and embolizations is to remember to properly hydrate in the day or two leading up. You’ll be on nil by mouth from some point but up to that stage, I’d say remember to stay nicely hydrated.

Good luck! Will be thinking about you next week, so keep us posted if you will.

Very best wishes

Richard