Does gadget stimulation bad for AVM?

Hello, it’s a pleasure for me to find this community, my name is Michelle and I’m 21 y.o.
I’ve just got diagnosed 6 months ago so I’m still new with AVM.
I have a question to ask to you guys.
Does gadget stimulation bad for AVM?
My doctor somehow told me that it is, but i haven’t found it anywhere in google about it.
I’m a student and currently I work as an assistant professor, so i have to use laptop and smartphone quite frequent.
I’m afraid if its really give a bad impact to my AVM.
Thankyou very much.
May you all be happy anywhere you are right now.

Best regard, Michelle.

2 Likes

Hello Michelle and welcome! You’ll find a wide range of experience here, with people who understand and lean on one another often. Its always good to take doctors advice, and always good to seek another opinion. We speak here from experience, and never replace a doctors opinion. With that I can say I have personally never heard of a screen causing negative effects to the AVM. Not sure if anyone else has heard similar. I am familiar with various types of light, particularly flashing potentially contributing to, or triggering, seizures. Perhaps that was his/her concern? Again welcome! Take Care, John.

3 Likes

I use these gadgets everyday like most for work etc & haven’t heard of this being an issue for AVM’s… possibly they want limited use due to seizure triggers etc or just being a little over protective… at the end of the day we could all benefit from less use of gadgets… God bless!

2 Likes

I’m not sure they are necessarily bad for an AVM but after mine ruptured those gadgets can trigger some of my simple seizures due to damage in my occipital lobe

2 Likes

The only problem I have ever had was with strobes causing seizures. Maybe that’s what the Doctor meant??? If I find myself in a “strobe situation” I just close my eyes until it is over.
I would ask the doctor to elaborate.

1 Like