Does Anyone Know What This Could Be?

Hello!
It started in September where i’d go numb to my fingers all the way to my feet (this only happened on the affected side of my AVM, right side). I went to the ER and they couldn’t find anything, I thought my AVM came back, but that’s not the case (thankfully). This has been happening for months now, it started to happen more frequently now and I just want answers.

Do I have a pinched nerve? Or is my arm not moving enough, and why would it cause my whole right side to go numb. Doesn’t make sense!

If any of you have experienced this and can help, please let me know! Thank you.

I’m thinking it could be migraine-like paraesthesia aura. How long does the numbness last?

10-20 minutes. I had a headache later on, but not when that happened.

That’s what I thought. I’m not a doctor. I’ve read about migraine aura and they can cover all sorts of things. One of the possible aura effects is paraesthesia; and things like scotomas (which I had for a while) run typically for 20 minutes before resolving.

So… ask the doctor if it could just be migraine aura.

The book I’ve read is very suspicious of aura that don’t transgress from one hemisphere to the other – that there is something less benign driving the migraine-like symptoms – but then we know you’ve got/had an AVM and you’ve had interventions, so there’s plenty of fiddling around with stuff in your brain for something to be triggering migraine-like symptoms.

Worth asking, I think.

2 Likes

I think you nailed it. I’ve never heard about “migraine-like paraesthesia aura”. I looked it up and can cause vomiting & confusion (which I thought were only signs I was anxious/nervous). This didn’t happen before through, I mean I had migraines yes, and a whole lot of headaches, but episode like these weren’t happening.

Thank you Richard.

1 Like