Diagnosed with 3cm AVM on left side of brain

Hello I’m posting here to get more information on this condition I just found out I have. Little background, I’m a 27 year old Hispanic male adult. I work as a police officer and am very fit, lift weights and run numerous miles weekly. After a shift I came home, fell asleep and woke up in the hospital after suffering a seizure. Scan revealed the AVM, was referred to Stanford Hospital to see a neurologist on Monday. Hoping to get some insights on what I can expect my limitations to be as far as work going forward (should I expect to be off a long time/or never go back), fitness, lifestyle changes

This is what a friend at the hospital told my family after talking to neurologist

“Hey I spoke with our neurologist Dr. Rehman. Did he have an EEG? Was the seizure caused by the AVM? Basically he wants to know if the AVM is ‘symptomatic.’
What side is the AVM located and did it cause any effects on the opposite side of the body/face. Main concern would be risk of a bleed because the AVM does not have a vascular wall. He was very curious to know if there was evidence of a previous bleed or any type of micro leak.
Depending on these factors he would either do follow up appointments with yearly imaging or recommend Gamma knife surgery (however, if it’s close to the brain stem they won’t touch it.) He said that based on his age he would try to avoid surgery as much as possible because of the increased risk of seizures, brain scarring, or incidental brain damage. He said optimally they would monitor with yearly scans and weigh risk vs reward based on imaging and symptoms.
IF he were to need surgery Dr. Rehman stays the best are UCSF and Stanford. BUT that there is also UCLA and Fresno. He says he likes the way UCSF and Stanford map out the brain before the surgery and that’s where he refers his patients.”