Considering Heading to Grad School

When I graduated from high school back in 1995, it was pretty much unspoken but understood that I WOULD be attending college. So, for the next 3 years, I worked full-time at a paint store and carried a full-load at community college. When ready to transfer to the university level to get a Bachelor's degree, I still had no idea what I wanted to study and was bored to death of attending school for almost 20 years. But, I went for 2 more years and earned a B.A. in Human Communication with focus on practical and professional ethics.

I have now been working in Human Resources at the local community collge for about 11 years. Never been a big fan of the job, still can barely stand it, but it HAS provided me with a stable job, decent wage and EXCELLLENT medical benefits that covered almost every cent of my expenses for my surgery and treatments.

As I have mentioned to some of my pals here on the site, as much as the job has been a support to me, it is simply not where I want to be in my life, and a big part of this is a result of my surgery. Having part of my left temporal lobe removed has changed the way I think. While I have always been into drawing and building things, I have never considered it a career option, but am now considering a huge shift, heading back to school, getting an MFA and possibly becoming an art instructor at the high school or college level.

But I am currently supporting a wife and two young kids, have limited time to attend classes, which would have to be taken at night and on the weekends, and expenses are going to be a major issue.

I am looking for any information I can possibly find on scholarships and perhaps people that have been in similar situations that might be able to provide insight on how to accomplish this feat. I would greatly appreciate it!

Hi Jake. You are a very talented guy! I have the belief that if you like what you are doing…you will live longer!