Communication help

I don't have the aphasia you mentioned, but I do have a harder time putting thoughts together and articulating them. This is very frustrating since I'm a writer. It now takes me 3 times longer to write a book, and a good writing day involves at least 3 naps.

I'm also on medication that is a mood stabilizer for brain patients, which has helped a LOT!

After my AVM rupture I was on a ventilator for nearly 3 weeks which is much longer than I was supposed to be, but it took 7 surgeries to remove the AVM and try to mitigate the damage from the bleed. Anyway, when I woke up from the surgeries and after all that time on the ventilator I couldn't speak, and it HURT. My vocal chords were bruised and extremely swollen.

I was VERY frustrated that I couldn't communicate. I couldn't even write at that point since my hands shook so much. However, I took one semester of sign language in college and remembered enough of it to communicate basics even though not very many people understood. But it helped me get at least some points across. It might help both you and your partner to get an ASL (American Sign Language) book and learn some together so she feels like she can communicate better. They also have some great You Tube videos that teach sign. It was a vast relief to me to be able to even to that. Just a suggestion.

I wish you both the best. Just be patient with her. Recovery takes a long time, and everyone heals differently. My 4 years post surgery date is coming up in November and there are still recovery steps I go through. I still have a left visual deficit that I went through a year and a half of vision therapy for.