Co-morbid hemiplegic migraine

Hi, does hemiplegic migraine run alongside AVM for you? What order were you diagnosed and what’s your experience?

Thank you.

Hello, @eternalsunshine (fabulous name!) Welcome to avmsurvivors! It’s good to have you join us.

I’ve had headaches for years but never labelled them as migraines and I am not sure if they are related to my AVM at all.

The one bit of information I was going to share with you was that I had a copy of Migraine by Dr Oliver Sacks, which I lent out after reading about half of it and I’m not sure I ever got it back, but in there Dr Sacks describes true migraine as something that invariably transgresses the body – from one hemisphere to the other – and that any apparent migraine that doesn’t proceed like that should be considered with suspicion as not a true migraine but having some other, underlying, cause. Thus, I’m pretty sure I’d attribute a hemiplegic migraine to something being driven by your AVM (but note, I’m not a doctor: I’ve read a book, that’s all!)

I’d also say there are plenty of folk here who have migraines or migraine-like symptoms, so again, I’d see a link.

If that helps.

I hope some others will chip in and share their experience.

Best wishes,

Richard

Thank you Richard. I’ll have a look at Oliver Sacks. I’ve read so little regarding migraine over the years because reading about them or focussing on them in any way can often literally cause pain.

It’s disconcerting that I’ve begun to experience stroke-like symptoms; loss of speech, left side weakness/temporary paralysis, confusion etc., as my migraine has ramped up to hemiplegic migraine and only now, (April 2020) has my AVM been discovered and diagnosed. No evidence of a bleed or the TIAs being caused by the AVM.

It’s confusing and difficult to accept, according to the Neurosurgeon, that the two are unconnected.
I’m still processing it all, obviously.