Behavior Issues Post Cerebral AVM rupture

Hi,

I’m new to this page and hoping to seek some advice.

My mom in Aug 2020 had to do emergency surgery on her AVM that ruptured located on her cerebellum. She had about a 5mm bleed of her posterior fossa of her cerebellum. Then post the hemorrhage she had a global ischemic stroke on her PICA.

Since she’s been home we’ve been dealing with behavorial issues which is now impacting her progress. She’s not motivated and when she’s at therapy they mentioned that she’s been exhibiting “childlike” behavior. That sometimes she would laugh about not participating or she’s treating the whole therapy session as a joke. She’s currently on 150mg of Zoloft. I’m not sure if this common behavior/what to do. And she’s also been trying to manipulate/deflect everyone from helping her. She also closes her eyes a lot when people talk to her to dismiss people. And during her therapy sessions she tries to put her head down and sleep. A few times I’ve noticed she thinks she’s like a kid. And all she wants to do is sleep as well. I’m not sure what would be the next best thing for her if I should look for some sort of Post Acute Brain Injury type of assisted living/supported living. Need some advice, please.

Welcome to our group. I hope we have some members that can pass along some of their experiences that you may find beneficial. There are a some threads that discuss behavior/behaviour if you click on the magnifying glass and search. I’m not sure if there are any similar to what you are describing. I was completely unable to control my emotions for several weeks following my bleed, I would just start crying. I hadn’t cried in years, but had no control at all over it. It slowly subsided for me and disappeared. My AVM was in the left temporal so quite different. Again welcome, John.

1 Like

Okay, thanks! This piece of info is just as helpful because I also noticed she’ll randomly start pouting or have lack of control of her emotions.

Hey Sam,