AVM reoccurrence

Hello, Millie’s mum here. I’m really struggling at the moment so i am going to call the doctors in the morning. I have suffered with depression for years now but the last 6 months prior to my daughters AVM rupture, i was in a good place. Whilst i am blessed my daughter survived her AVM rupture after Craniotomy, i am so stressed out, anxious and worried that it will come/grow back. We have an angiogram in October. I am just waiting for the date. I am trying to remain strong for her but i am breaking on the inside and feel so low.

Maybe i just needed to vent things.

Sarah

1 Like

Sarah,

It’s completely understandable. It’s a tough thing to be a parent of a child going through this.

I don’t know the stats but the impression I get is that repeats after open surgery seem to me to be lower than other modes. So I think she’s had the best chance to put it all behind her.

Richard

2 Likes

Very Understandable.

I am not a doctor/healthcare professional.

Just an anectode from a dad whose daughter had a bleed/crainotomy six years ago: She is getting good care, she is getting followed. Chances are good that what you are worrying about, is simply not there. If something were to happen, you are in a good place to be able to deal with it. She wants you to get better as well. If i could turn the clock back, i would channel some of the hours of worry, to take care of myself and the family; to be able to support her recovery better in the long run.

Best wishes,

Atif

2 Likes

Hello Millie’s mum, I’m really feeling for you and I can tell you’re having a rough time.
Hopefully, her avm won’t grow back and she’ll live a decent pain-free life.
Even though you feel like you’re breaking on the inside, I doubt you will break. It seems like you’re aware of your depression so you should continue to do what ever is necessary to care for yourself. G

3 Likes