Quantcast

AVM Survivors Network

Anyone Apply for Disability?

Hello,
My family has been urging me to apply for disability because of the headaches I continue to have after 6 procedures. I’m due to have the Gamma Knife done next month and will wait for the recommended two-year period for healing. I’m a teacher, but have been substituting over the past two years for the flexibility in scheduling, which has affected our income, but released a lot of pressure on me in more ways than one. Any thoughts, or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Hi,

I’m also interested in this topic as I’m, for the first time since being diagnosed in 1989, concidering filing myself. It gets more and more difficult with each new symptom to be able to have a half as normal day of being productive.

Vicki, I would recommend talking to an attorney who specializes in SS disability. There are many who will not take your case until you are denied, but some offer free consultations. You should find out what your doctors need to say in order to be approved. If you do all of this before you apply you better your chances of being approved. I can tell you that generally you are denied disability the first time you file, that seems to be the norm. Then hire an attorney right away to file the appeal, you’ve only got 60 days from the date of the denial letter to file the appeal. Attorneys do not get paid unless you win your disability case so if they agree to take your case it’s a pretty good bet that they think they can win. I’m going through this right now (just filed the first appeal) and it is frustrating but should be well worth it in the end.

Trish,

If you don’t mind me asking… how long of a process has it been for you so far?

Kim