Anybody with experience being treated at Duke for pelvic AVM?

Hello, all.
I am new to the AVM survivors network and am also new to AVM’s altogether. I didn’t even know what an AVM was until about 3 weeks ago when I got diagnosed with a “very large” and “very serious” one. Now, here’s my dilemma: As rare as AVM’s are, apparently I have a very severe form of the even more rare pelvic AVM. Doctor said it was stage 3-4 and causing all sorts of problems based on the size of it. The interventional radiologist in Greenville, NC didn’t feel comfortable treating me so he referred me to UNC, Chapel Hill. Just spoke with him today but he is leaving on a year long sabbatical in a few months and according to him I need continuing treatment over many years. I know, I’m rambling but bottom line is Duke university; has anybody been treated there or know anyone that was treated there for a pelvic AVM? The doctor at UNC seemed very concerned and even went so far as trying to refer me to the top AVM Doctor in the nation all the way in Colorado (Dr. Yakes if anybody has heard of him). But as I said I’m in North Carolina. Moving across country is not impossible but since Duke is right here in NC I would like to see if they’re capable of handling an apparently very severe version of a pelvic AVM. Any input whatsoever is greatly appreciated. As I said I was just diagnosed about 3 weeks ago so whatever info/support y’all can offer me would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance for your time.

Welcome to the site, most of us find out we have an AVM before we know what one is. I hope someone jumps in with some experience form Duke that can help you out. If you go to the top right corner of the screen and click the magnifying glass and type in Duke you’ll get some hits that may help you out. I didn’t review the result but did get some. Take Care and welcome, John.

1 Like

Hi Hasbund,