Anxiety!

Hi everyone!! It has been a while since I posted. I hope that everyone is having nothing but success with life and the enjoyment of life. I do have a question: I had AVM removed at the end of December through craniotomy. Has anyone who has had this procedure experienced anxiety, overwhelming at times, since the surgery? Is this a part of the recovery process? I feel like I'm about to jump out of my skin at times...YIKES!!

Yes - this is perfectly normal. (It's also tough to handle.) But please don't think you're the only one who's feeling like that. If it gets bad, ask your doctor if there's a neuropsych he or she recommends. You won't always feel this anxious, but it can help to see a counselor or neuropsych to help you get past the initial anxiety period.

Thanks Shirasaya!! I have my Masters in counseling and I have been trying to recognize the symptoms when they occur so that I am aware. I did not want to assume it was the surgery but it did not happen prior. Thanks for your insight!

Recognizing it is half the battle, but dealing with it is still tough on your own. Always good to have another pair of eyes. I've had wild ups and downs and have had help coming up with some good strategies from a counselor.

Hi Unbeilevable1,
I had my craniotomy to remove the avm in my cerebellum back in 2001. To answer your question, I have and do experience moments of intense anxiety. I still cope with the idea there are certain things I am unable to do well anymore, yet at the same time I have been able to overcome some deficits and try to remember not to take that for granted. Finding patience in the moments of frustration help to alleviate my anxiety and, realizing the ebb and flows of recovery keeps me calm...and drinking chamomile tea.
I wish you well and continued success in your recovery.

Thanks for the feedback everyone. I just wanted to see if this was part of recovery as well. So many new things…enjoy your day!!