Advice

Hello everyone,
I would like to take a moment and thank you all for the warm welcome. Also for the information on the meds. I am new to this and I am having a little trouble moving around the site.

I would like to say a few things and hopefully get some answers. My husband has an AVM on the right frontal lobe it is about 2.5 cm. This was a surprise and since we found out life has not been the same.

We had ct, mri and angio to confirm it. Now the big question is what to do.

We had a radiation consult on 6/2. Radiation seems easy enough the doctors make it seems a routine procedure and they are very positive. (I feel that they are selling a product) I on the other hand feel a little uneasy. I do not like the idea that it will take 3/5 years for the avm to be treated with a chance of having to repeat the procedure. Also the chance of paralys on the left side scares me.

We are consulting with another surgen at a different hospital on 6/13 to discuss possible removal. I feel that removing the avm would be better because than it will end it. I do realize that there are risks involved like infections and bleeds or even a stroke.

We could also just leave it alone and wait. That is the suggestion of another surgen

Since we have received this news our life has been changed. We are overwhelmed with all the informations and we have and trying to make a decision that will effect you for the rest of your life is very hard.

I am so glad that I found this support group and you all have made me feel welcome. I do appreciate it especially since a lot of people do not know what an AVM is. I did not know either untill we had to start taking all of this tests and meet with all different doctors.

What I would like to ask is Is there a web site that has informations on what the rate of success are on the different procedures to take care of an AVM.