Abnormal venous vessels 2yrs after AVM surgery

Looking for someone who has had an AVM repair as a child. My son was 8yrs old had surgical repair of an AVM deep in the frontal/ parietal lobe 3cm was the size . For the last 2 yrs the Cerebral interventional Radiologist tells me my son has some abnormal venous vessels she does not see an arterial feed, and that i should discuss the findings with my son's surgeon. His name is Dr. Sutton chief of neurosurgery at CHOP(Childrens hospital of Philadelphia) He says i am not concerned at this time. There is nothing that can be done. As a Mom and nurse I am very concerned, i want to make sure that i am doing everything possibe in my sons best interest. Has anyone gone to Jefferson as a child ? Not sure if I should stay with pediatric hopitals? Looking for anyones opinion on best Hospital for a 2nd opinion for a 10 yr old child.

Thanks Diane

Hi Diane. Totally understand your concern and this is a great place to get feedback from others. I would def contact Kim (Jaclyn’s mom) as they go to CHOP and J is 12. She hasn’t had surgery, but diff forms of radiation. Another is Janice, (Andrew’s mom) who had surgery, the AVM reoccurred, and had surgery again. I bet she would be a great one to discuss with you and find out more info.
Good luck!

Hi Diane,
I had 2 separate bleeds as a child. I had a cranio at the age of 5, which grew back by the time I had my 2nd stroke at 14. The docs say it’s bc I was a child and my brain was not fully developed. So I think it’s a great idea that the surgeons are monitoring him. I see you are in Philly - close to NYC. Perhaps you want to talk to my surgeons/ team. My surgeon’s name is Dr. E. Sander Connolly and is located at Columbia University Medical Center. It doesn’t hurt to get 2nd or 3rd opinions.

Hi Diane,