21 y/o AVM patient/ gamma knife help?

Hello, I am new to this support group. I am 21 years old and at the end of January, I had a incident where my feet went paralyzed and eyesight went blotchy. I threw up bile for days thinking I had food poisoning until I became incoherent and had to be rushed to the ER. On 2/4/2022 I was told by the doctors had a intraventricular hemorrhage (brain bleed) due to a Ruptured right parietal AVM, it is 1cm & I was emboli-zed thru my groin area. I am due for radiation therapy aka the Gamma Knife on 3/31/2022, I am quite nervous and was wondering what was the outcome for you all? Any common side affects I should be concerned about ?

1 Like

@Jaylahh

Welcome to AVMsurvivors! I’m sorry you’ve had a rupture but it sounds like you’re in good hands.

I’m not especially familiar with gamma knife because I just needed an embolisation but I’ve read a fair bit on here about it. It seems to me likely that you’ll get no effects from the radiotherapy for about six months, then people do start to report some things like headaches and other effects which are usually to do with the radiotherapy doing it’s thing. As a day treatment, it seems uninvasive: the frame that you have to wear to guide the zapping all into the right place is quite uncomfortable but it is only for a short time.

My mum suffers with chicken pox every time it comes round, so as a kid, she avoided passing it on to myself or my sister. Consequently, I got chicken pox as an adult, which led on to me justifying to myself that it was only two days of being itchy and as an adult, I should be able to reason my way through it. I did ok. I’ll admit I found it necessary to rub some of the spots.

So I think going through gamma knife is the same: it doesn’t take very long and hopefully you can argue with yourself to deal with the discomfort of the frame for the short time it is needed (I assume an hour or so – not a couple of days!!)