Hey AVM Community I've had some success targeting certain age groups and just wanted to extend a welcoming hand

Im in Midland, Texas living life post release. With the minimal to come back witch is better than I’ve heard from others. I’m here to support who ever needs a rock to lean on. I’ve lived the recovery process, had only me to buckle my bootstraps and say do you really want to be bedridden or someone you can be proud of. I have my Regular High School Diploma. And a heck of a motivational speech for anyone that’s thought they’ve hit rock bottom. I’m now walking 5 miles a day, lifting 85 lbs, and eight laps around a 23 ft pool. I’ve had two caretakers tell me that they were moved and inspired by my willingness to help others in my journey. If you have any questions, need for inspiration, or anything please do not hold back. I make light in the mist of darkness, and its darkest just before the dawn. Yours Truly, Jerrod “Tex” Black

1 Like

Hey, congratulations! This is pretty inspiring. Curious, did you manage to stay in shape at all while you were recovering? I don't know how to keep from wasting away without risking more bleeds. Regardless, thanks, hope things are well.

I remember after my Titainum clips were in that and know Dr.Scott was being realistic but, he said there’s a big possibility that you(I) would never walk again. It just gave me the motivation to push myself beyond their means. I was nine when it bled. Two years post the bleed I walked back into my elementary. And haven’t looked back to say I wish I had it to do again.

I just remember telling myself “you can do this” over and over again. The worst thing you can do is keep telling yourself you can’t.

Thank you for this. Accepting my own disabilities was one of the most dehumanizing things I've ever done, and it crushed my morale. Thank you again.