Asked to resign

My supervisor asked me to resign if I have to have surgery.Going for cerebral angiogram Thursday I don’t know what is going to happen after that but I refused to resign but does anyone know if that is legal?

WOW !
I'm no expert - but in the UK, this sounds like you would have a legal case against, unless the terms suit you to accept. Take legal advise before you agree to anything. I'd keep copies of all communications just in case.
Good luck with the angiogram!

If you resign, Sheba, you may lose severance pay or unemployment beenfits, which your supervisor probably is aware of. Keep notes on any further conversations about resignation with the date of the conversation and exact quotations. And do consult a lawyer if you are wrongfully terminated or demoted because of your health. This webpage may also be helpful: http://employeeatty.blogspot.com/2012/08/my-employer-says-i-have-to-resign-what.html

Don't do it. You will Not be able to collect unemployment if you do. If you have insurance through them, they may be wanting you to resign for that reason. I don't know what he/she is thinking but, it's definitely unethical to ask such a thing and.. cold.

You could contact your state representative's office and talk to them about it.